To Do: Wonder if Blackbird Has a Life

Hello theoretical readers! According to recent surveys conducted by various organizations and special interest groups:

— married couples have sex 2-3 times per week, on average
— 16% of all email users use Outlook as their preferred software client
— Blackbird has no life

While the third is not intended to be a factual statement, it may very well be, because he’s back with yet another blog post. His competitive exploits have taken him to a local (being Chicago-land) 40K tournament, where his new Eldar force took on all challengers with their extreme firepower and ambiguous sexuality. Let’s see what Blackbird has to say.

***As is said with every blog post, the views expressed in this post are particular to the writer, and may not reflect those of other Nerds To Do List writers, Nerds To Do List itself, or the President of the Nebraska Homeowners Association.***

Hey everyone, Blackbird here to tell about a local tournament I was able to attend this past week. The tournament organizer, a cool dude who creates events for a variety of wargaming platforms (such as 40K and Infinity), hosted yet another very well run event. I had a blast hanging out with friends and playing some really sick missions in a well-organized atmosphere. But enough of my kudos, let’s get down to the tournament!

For this event, each player competed against their fellow 40K players in three games, where they could earn a possible 84 points. Each round lasted up to 2.5 hours. This was the first time I was able to run my Tau/Eldar list, which consisted of:

Eldar

farseer on bike
x2 bike squads
x3 wave serpents
x2 wraithknights
x2 warp spiders squads

Game 1: Eldar vs. Chaos Daemons (Screamer Star)

On turn 1, we both deployed defensively and waited for each other to do something. I did manage to do some damage to his star before he popped his 2++ shenanigans, but I simply couldn’t pump out  enough firepower to kill the heralds I needed dead before the slaughter begin. He in turn popped two serpents in turn 2 and proceeded to kill 1 of my warp spiders squads. Man, these armies are fierce once they get going. From there, it was just a movement game with some light firepower on both our ends. As fate would have it, he rolled really well and I rolled terribly, leading him to smash most of my army off the board. By turn 5, I held only objective and one wraithknight wound up earning me linebreaker points, but that’s where my scores ended. This game, more than anything, was a learning experience for me, as I had never played the dreaded Screamer Star. My opponent was a cool guy, though as afterwards we talked about my mistakes and what I should do if I ever see a Screamer Star again.

Result : 1-27 pt loss

Game 2: Eldar vs. Eldar/Tau

With a miserable showing in round 1, I was determined to make a comeback! Since I was at the last table due to my horrible performance, I was pitted against an opponent that wasn’t quite prepared for a “hardcore” game. I was lucky enough to seize the initiative and go first. Turn 1 went pretty terrible for this guy; I managed to kill his two broadsides, his wraithknight (and warlord), and five wraithguard, right off the bat. He, in turn, squeezed out two glances to one of my  serpents. As the game went on, I was able  to out play and outmaneuver him with my fast moving army, tabling him by turn 4 and earning full points!

Result: 8-0 pt win

Game 3: Eldar vs. Blood Angels

So having earned a total of 29 points, I needed to earn full points again in my last match to catapult me beyond the top 16. My opponent, a Blood Angel player, actually ran an old grand daddy blood angel list, consisting most of a rhino rush backed by a land raider. This game was actually a lot of fun and annoying at the same time, as even with my far superior xenos firepower, I failed to penetrate the land raider four times. We had a tight game, going back and forth doing a good amount of damage to each other. Things began to start sliding my way by turn 4. At this point, I was able to crack open all his vehicles and make his marines walk across the battlefield. Now, since his marines had no real answer for my fast moving vehicles and monstrous creatures, I was able to dance around him and send an ample amount of shots into his forces. It ended on turn 5 with him having five marines left in the open. I was able to score all objectives and all secondaries to earn full points two games in a row!

Result: 28-0 win

Conclusion

The tournament overall was a ton of fun and I do plan on going again to redeem myself. With a 2-1 score and 57/84pts (netting me 4th place,) I was pleased with my performance, especially since it was my first three games with my Eldar army. My opponents had some solid lists (it was especially cool to see such an old school Blood Angels army), but, as many tournament goers can attest, few things can counter a well-constructed Eldar warhost. For now, it’s time to train for future GTs, because this Youngblood is on the hunt for a GT win! Now to figure out some solid counter-tactics to thwart those pesky daemons…

To Do: Wonder if Blackbird Has a Life

About Onshava

I'm a writer who grew up a total geek. I attended the University of Florida (Go Gators!), graduated, and set out to make my place in the world in the great city of Chicago. I'm married (still not sure how I suckered her into it), have two dogs, and think subway trains are the devil's magic. Also, I'm a horribly addicted hobbyist. Warhammer 40k, MMOs, Xbox gaming, writing, reading, playing guitar, painting, modeling (not the sexy GQ kind)...you name it, I probably do it. I also like to talk, a lot. So, to quote Deckard Cain, "Hello, my friends! Stay awhile, and listen." View all posts by Onshava

One response to “To Do: Wonder if Blackbird Has a Life

Leave a Reply

